Posted in lesbian

Wanted: More Lesbians

I’ve decided that I need more lesbian friends in my life.  I have had the pleasure of meeting some awesome lady loving ladies online but I have felt that I’ve been missing something in my life.  It’s kind of like getting married friends when you’re married.  Or finding friends with kids when you’ve had kids.

tumblr_nam5hlS5nY1qcjij3o1_500

I’ve been out as being lesbian for about 3 years or so and I’ve been out as bisexual (HA!) for even longer than that.  But I’ve never been a part of the LGBT community since I’ve came out.  I’ve been blessed to have a bisexual best friend.  But for as long as I’ve known her, she’s only been with men.  I think she had once told me that she prefers to have sex with men. (Ew.)

I have a gay male friend.  We’ve been friends for ages and ages!  We grew up next to each other since we were 7 years old. Since Trump was elected, our relationship seems strained. I mentioned on Facebook that I would give Trump a chance – and trust me that horrible man blew through all the chances I could give him in a thousand lifetimes within his first week of his presidency.  I wonder if I were in the community more I would know not to say anything like that.  I was just tired of my friends and family being attacked for voting for Trump – even if I did want to ring their necks.  I still love them all.  And since I’ve said that, it’s been weird.

I need some seasoned lesbians to take me under their wings and show me the ropes, I suppose.  I just feel that I’m missing that feeling of solidarity.  When I go to Pride Fest with my best friend, I just feel so much… well… pride for who we are and who I am.  I don’t want that feeling to go away once I get in my car and start driving home.

But here’s the really big issue.  I’ll have to overcome my introverted ways.  How can I go out and meet new people if I can’t be bothered to leave the house?  Perhaps I should call my best friend and have her go out with me.  She says she’s sick of men and might start dating women again so I’m sure I can coax her into it.

99581d65037aa56983a0189282962ea2

Wish me luck, y’all!

Author:

Single Mom of Two Wonderful Girls. In Love with her Kiwi Soul Mate. In Love with God and the Blessings He's Given.

6 thoughts on “Wanted: More Lesbians

  1. I feel like I am in the same boat. I am pretty introverted as well. It seems like most of the events my gay and lesbian friends go to involve bars and I don’t drink. I found a huge community online though since I started reviewing lesbian fiction.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

