Posted in Book Reviews

Book Review: On Writing – A Memoir of the Craft (Audiobook)

Title: On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft
Written by: Stephen King
Narrated by: Stephen King
Length: 8 hrs and 5 mins
Type: Unabridged Audiobook
Release Date: 10-04-00
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio

Publisher’s Summary (as seen on Audible.com):
“If you don’t have the time to read, you don’t have the time or the tools to write.” Here is Stephen King’s master class on his craft.

On Writing begins with a mesmerizing account of King’s childhood and his early focus on writing to tell a story. A series of vivid memories from adolescence, college, and the struggling years that led up to his first novel, Carrie, offer a fresh and often funny perspective on the formation of a writer. King then turns to the tools of his trade, examining crucial aspects of the writer’s art and life, offering practical and inspiring advice on everything from plot and character development to work habits and rejection.

King was in the middle of writing this book when he was nearly killed in a widely reported accident. On Writing culminates with a profoundly moving account of how his need to write spurred him toward recovery, and brought him back to his life.

©2000 Stephen King, All Rights Reserved; (P)2000 Simon & Schuster, Inc.

Review:
This little gem is a delight. I had one more credit to use on my Audible account for this month and I couldn’t decide on which book to get. I sifted through the long list of Fantasy books because after all ‘You are what you read.’ I just really couldn’t decide. I came upon this title and I’ve heard that I should read this as a budding writer. I decided to go for it.

I love listening to memoirs that are narrated by the authors. It’s an obsession of mine now.

I don’t read Stephen King novels. My girl is obsessed with them. He is her favorite author (besides me, she reassures me). I listened to his anecdotes about his life and I seriously have some major respect for this man. He talked about all of the rejection slips he got from different magazines. Yes, people. You read that right. They rejected Mr. King a lot. I suddenly felt that he was a human being and not this creature from another planet that has a magic pen and won’t share with anyone. So rude!  I also loved how he spoke about his wife.  It was so adorable.  Yes.  Stephen King can be adorable.  Don’t believe me?  Get this book.

When he got to the writing advice portion of the book, it was an eye opener! As I’m typing this, I keep hearing all of his don’ts in my head. Shhhhh, Stephen… I’ll get there. He mentioned lots of resources that I never knew existed. I am forever grateful for choosing this book.

If you’re a write, you need to pick this book up. Even if you’re not, still pick this book up! It is a great read!

“The road to Hell is paved with adverbs.” – Stephen King
—-

Get On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King on Audible.com and Amazon.com
Visit StephenKing.com for the latest news.
Follow Stephen King on Twitter.

Author:

Single Mom of Two Wonderful Girls. In Love with her Kiwi Soul Mate. In Love with God and the Blessings He's Given.

One thought on “Book Review: On Writing – A Memoir of the Craft (Audiobook)

Leave a Reply

