Posted in dealing with stress, God, Relationships, spirituality

My Nephew: The Soldier

Last week, my family and I went to Fort Leonard Wood Army Post for Family Day and Boot Camp Graduation of my oldest nephew. We are so proud of him!!  He was transformed from a teenage boy to a man.  We had so much fun going to different places around the post and doing little things like eating Taco Bell with him because he hadn’t had Taco Bell for 7 months!

As I sat in my chair during graduation and looking at all the soldiers (not just my nephew), you can tell they were different. They weren’t like “civilians” as they called regular everyday people.  They were trained and disciplined.  You could tell with their demeanor, how they talked, how they stood, and how they walked and/or marched.  I’ve been reflecting on this since I’ve been home.  I’ve been reflecting on what one of the commanding officers said during her speech. All of the training and all of the honing they had to endure to become a sharpened weapon.  This made me reflect on my spirituality.

There have been a lot of things going on in my life currently that have been taking a toll on my happiness.  I’ve been trying to keep my heart full of love but it’s being squished by some disappointments, sadness, and even anger.  Like I said in my post about my heart having no room for sadness and anger, there isn’t any room for those.  Of course, I’m human and those emotions do come busting in.

I’m trying to set different things up in my life to help deter those unwanted emotions down to a minimum (we can’t get rid of them all or we would be a creepy happy robot). But no matter what I have in place, I don’t follow through.  I could say I’m going to meditate more.  But it doesn’t happen.  I could say I’m going to pray and study the Bible more.  But the days slip away from me before I realize it’s been a week and I haven’t put forth the effort.  I could say I’m going to start writing a journal that has all the things I’m grateful for and blessed with.  But I would see the journal collecting dust on my book shelf.  Then I realized last week what key ingredient I’ve been missing all along.  Discipline.

I didn’t know what I was missing until I watched my nephew and his platoon quoting the Army Creed.  I didn’t notice what I lacked until I saw every soldier march in near perfect unison.  I need discipline.  My nephew didn’t have it until after he completed his training.  That’s what I need.  Discipline.  Having a couple of Drill Sergeants yelling at me wouldn’t hurt either.  But since I don’t have those at my disposal, I’ll just have to recruit some Drill Sergeants of my own.   I’ll recruit my toughest friends and family members to help keep me on track.

I need discipline.  I know it’s going to take several months.  My nephew didn’t become a soldier overnight and I won’t become disciplined overnight, as well.  Say a prayer for me!!

Author:

Single Mom of Two Wonderful Girls. In Love with her Kiwi Soul Mate. In Love with God and the Blessings He's Given.

Leave a comment